40 Questions With: Kalyn Hanna

Screen Shot 2018-02-05 at 12.22.23 PM.png

Introducing Kalyn Hanna, a recent addition to the Blanc & Otus team! After graduating from San Diego State University, Kalyn spent time living in Oslo, Norway working with tech startups before making her way to the Bay Area. 

She is an avid hiker but likes to balance out her active hiking lifestyle by being a Netflix addict and religiously watching her favorite football team, the Charger, every Sunday.

Check out Kalyn's full interview below!

  1. What's your full name? Kalyn Marie Hanna
  2. Where are you from? San Diego, CA
  3. What’s the most exciting thing in your life right now? I’m getting married in June, so that’s pretty exciting! 
  4. How did you end up in PR? I chose to study PR in college because I always had a strong interest in writing and storytelling and felt that PR allowed me to make a difference in my community by championing the stories of organizations that I feel are making a positive impact.  
  5. If you weren’t in PR what would you do? If I wasn’t in PR, I would be a traveling food blogger because it combines my two loves – food and traveling. 
  6. Favorite ice cream flavor? Chocolate chip cookie dough
  7. Favorite color? Emerald green
  8. What makes you happiest? Spending time with the people I love
  9. What makes you bored? Waiting in line
  10. Morning person or night owl? Morning person – I’m usually lights out by 10 p.m.
  11. Chocolate or vanilla?  Vanilla
  12. Favorite childhood birthday party? My 8th birthday party when I went to a place called “Jeepers” that’s basically Chuckie Cheese and I rode a dragon-themed rollercoaster the whole party. 
  13. Last book you read? The Belief Instinct by Jesse Bering
  14. Favorite boy band? Never was into boy bands – but I choose the Backstreet Boys. 
  15. Favorite veggie? Potatoes
  16. Puppies or kittens? Puppies
  17. Bacon or Nutella? Bacon
  18. What color is your toothbrush? White
  19. Do you chew your pen? Occasionally
  20. Number of piercings? 0 – my ears closed up when I was 10 and I never got them re-pierced
  21. Number of tattoos? 0
  22. Beer or wine? Beer
  23. Last dream you remember having? There was something wrong with my car’s registration.
  24. What time do you get up in the morning? 6 a.m.
  25. What time do you go to bed? Around 10 p.m.
  26. Last concert you attended? A music festival in Oslo with small, local bands
  27. Can you do any good impressions? Only of my mom
  28. What store would you like to max out your credit card at? H&M
  29. Did you have any imaginary friends as a kid? Not that I can remember
  30. Can you play any instruments? I barely play the drums. 
  31. What is the oldest thing in your fridge? Starbucks Chai Tea mix
  32. What is the nerdiest thing you do in your spare time? I like to read books related to human history and psychology
  33. Its Friday at 8 pm, where are you? I’m either out eating dinner or watching Netflix and drinking an alcoholic beverage. 
  34. Its Saturday at 10 am, where are you? I’m probably out hiking. 
  35. Last gift you gave someone? A wine tasting Groupon
  36. What were you like in high school? I attempted to be a “scene” kid, but I wasn’t quite cool enough. 
  37. Last thing you watched on TV? Parks and Recreation
  38. What do you think about when you’re alone in the car? What I’m going to eat next
  39. If you could be any animal in the world, what are you? A snow leopard
  40. Favorite 90s jam? So hard to choose one - Wonderwall by Oasis

 

Danielle Tarp